Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Athletic Banq Continued

Athletic Banq Continued

Power Lifting coach, Kirk Byrd, introduced the Lady Mule power lifters as they came to the stage. Ruby Andrade, Brianna Barron, Daniella Cortez, Jaida Gandarilla, Noa Rojas and Brianna Velasquez. Most of these young ladies medaled in at least one meet this season.

The Mule power lifters also had a successful year with David Rodriguez setting a new squat lift record of 605 pounds. Francisco Elizalde, Dominick Hasley, Carlos Hernandez, Ceasar Olivares and Blake Parker joined Rodriguez on stage.

The regional qualifiers for 2015 were Brianna Barron, David Rodriguez and Evan Paez. These three lifters placed fifth at the regional meet and received a medal in their weight class.

The Girl Powerlifting MVP was Brianna Barron and the Boy Powerlifting MVP was David Rodriguez.

The 2015 Mule and Lady Mule Golf teams were introduced next by their coach, Carey Sudduth. Conner Harrison had two solid rounds during the District 2-3A golf meets to win his second Individual District Championship.

Harrison played in the Region I tournament in Abilene and earned some valuable experience for another run at the state tournament next year.

The Lady Mule earned medals in two invitational tournaments and finished second in the district to earn the Lady Mules a trip to the Region I Tournament in Abilene. They placed eighth out of 16 teams and each girl on the team shot at least one round that was their personal best score.

The Boys Golf Award went to Conner Harrison and the Girls Golf Awards went to Sadie Sudduth with her Low Score at District. Sydnie Sudduth took the Low Score at Regional Award.

The Varsity Tennis Team was invited to the stage by MHS Tennis coach, Jody Wood. The team competed in four tournaments during the season and at the District 2-3A Tournament the team brought home three bronze medals.

Jesse Leal won the bronze in Boys Singles. Gloria Gonzalez and Imelda Salcido won bronze in Girls Doubles. Denisse Ramirez and Aaryn Ross won bronze in Mixed Doubles.

The Tennis Achievement Awards went to Braden Bessire and Kayla Preston. The Tennis MVP Award went to Jesse Leal.

Lady Mule Track coach Benjie Jay invited the Lady Mule track team to come forward. Seven girls qualified for the Area Track Meet held in Tulia. Following the Area Meet was completed four girls had qualified in two events for the Region I Meet in Abilene.

Ruby Andrade ran in the 400-meter dash and the 4x400-meter relay composed of Blanca Ramirez, Conley Niblett, Jazmin Arellano and Ruby Andrade.

The Newcomer of the Year Award went to Conley Niblett. The Workhorse Award was presented to Blanca Ramirez. The Most Improved Award was given to Jazmin Arellano. The Most Outstanding Award was earned by Daniella Diaz. The Most Valuable 2015 Track Athlete Award was presented to Ruby Andrade.

The Mule Track team joined coaches Byrd and Wood on the stage. The Mule Area Qualifiers were Francisco Elizalde, Aaryn Ross, Josh Lopez, Jesse Easily, Bryce Mauricio, Danny Campos, Tre Villa, Cesar Olvera, Jesse Leal, Evan Paez and Cristian Paez. Cristian Paez was the lone Mule to qualify for the Region I Meet.

The Best in Field Events Award went to Cesar Olvera. The Most Improved Runner Award was presented to Danny Campos. The Workhorse Award was earned by Evan Paez. The Track MVP Award was presented to Cristian Paez.

Lady Mule Softball coach, Erin White brought the Lady Mule softball team to the stage. The Lady Mules had won 20 consecutive district games before losing to Shallowater. But the Lady Mules battled back to defeat Shallowater 7-4 in their final district contest to earn a Co-District Championship.

The Lady Mules also defeated Shallowater 4-3 in a seeding game with Leti Loya hitting a home run for the win.

The Golden Glove Award went to Gabi Chavez. The Heart and Hustle Awards is given to a player that best embodies the values, spirits and traditions of the game. The Heart and Hustle went to the Lady Mule dynamic duo, Miranda De Bruin and Adriana Loya. The Softball MVP Award was presented to Mireya Ruvalcaba.    

The Mule Baseball team was recognized but no awards were presented as the team was still engaged in post season games.

No comments:

Post a Comment