Tuesday, May 19, 2015

2014-2015 Athletic Banquet (5-5-2015) Pt 1.

2014-2015 Athletic Banquet (5-5-2015) Pt 1.

The 2014-2015 school year is drawing to a close and Tuesday was the Muleshoe Athletic Boosters Club annual Athletic Banquet. The Legends Award, if present, is always the first award presented each year.

The senior class of 2015 thought it was only fitting to honor Jack Rennels as the this year’s Legends Award recipient. MagAnn and Gil Robert Rennels were invited to the stage to accept the award in remembrance of Jack Rennels.

Coach Josh Woolbright introduced the Student Athletic Trainers for 2014-2015 school year as Alex Baca, Jaki Huerta, Daisy Montejano, Edith Castillo, Brylee Beall, Samantha Cortez, Gaby Gonzalez, Haley Hunt and Alexandria Sanchez.

Coach Woolbright recognized The Student Athletic Trainer as Alexandra Baca. She dedicated her high school career to taking care of the athletes of MHS. She is one of only two student trainers that have made the journey all the way from their freshman through senior year in the Muleshoe Sports Medicine Program. She plans to attend ENMU next year.

Woolbright also took the opportunity to thank the students, coaches, administrators and community for all their support over these past eight years. As he goes on to a new opportunity, know that he will always consider Muleshoe home.

The MHS cheerleaders were ask to the stage. The varsity cheerleaders had four senior members. Daniela Diaz, Kayla Preston, Gabi Chavez and Angie Perez. The juniors on the varsity squad were Shyanne Carpenter and Marissa Reyes.. The Mascot was Marilyn Melendez.

Coach Josh Woolbright was honored with a plaque for his years of service to Muleshoe ISD as well as Muleshoe athletes. He treated countless athletes and submitted an untold number of insurance claims. He always went above and beyond to get our athletes ready for competition.

Woolbright made everyone’s job easier by taking on the equipment manger roll, ordered supplies, organized calendars, ran drills when a coach was absent, set up spring physicals, order meals and the list just continues.

He was for all the students. He developed the Student Training National Honor Society. Helped start a state wide organization where the student trainers could compete and has the Muleshoe trainers competing in the National competition.

Woolbright never backed down from an invitation to help other organizations like Beautiful You, Shattered Dreams, Worth the Wait and numerous others. He is truly one of a kind and will be missed.
The varsity football team was brought to the stage. The Mules were 4-0 with district wins over River Road, Friona, Childress and Dimmitt with the final game being the War on 84. Littlefield was also sporting a 4-0 record going in to the final week.

The Mules trailed 27-26 with three minutes left in the game and Littlefield owned the ball. The Mules caused a fumble, converted a fourth down with seven yards needed for a first down and scored with just 40 seconds left on the clock to finish the regular season at 8-2.

Wall of Fame recipients were Braden Bessire  as an All State performer in 2013 and all district honors both his junior an senior year. Dustin Smith was named to the second team All State squad and was a second year first team offensive lineman. He was named to both the Globe News and All South Plains Super teams.

Ryder White was named as District 1-3A Defensive Player of the Year for 2014. Keagan Gonzales was named as the District 1-3A Most Valuable Player for 2014.

The senior Team Captains were for the 2014 year were Braden Bessire and JJ Gandera. Jaxon Lee and Danny Campos have served as captains for two years and were only juniors.

Dagen Dunham was named as Most Improved and received first team all district offense lineman as a sophomore. The Offensive Player award was presented to District 1-3A MVP Keagan Gonzales.

Defensive Player went to the District 1-3A defensive player of the year, Ryder White. The Football Most Outstanding Player was presented to Josh Lopez for rushing for 1325 yards.

The MVP-Fighting Heart Award went to Braden Bessire after being injured half of the season returned to help the Mules to an undefeated district season.

Cross Country coach Edie Niblett introduced the boys and girls cross country teams. Jasmine Garza was named as the Girl MVP for finishing in the top ten at district and qualifying for the Regional Meet.

The Boy MVP went to Evan Paez for won both the district meet and Regional Meet and to earn a trip to Texas State Meet in Round Rock. The Mule Pride Award went to Noah Del Toro.

Coach Cary Sudduth and the Lady Mule basketball team was next to the stage. The All-District Awards went to Dani Diaz and Sadie Sudduth. The Newcomer of the Year award was present to Conley Niblett.

The Defensive Player of the Year Award went to the Shanice Rosas for playing in the middle of the Lady Mule zone defense. The Most Versatile Player Award was presented to Sydnie Sudduth. The Offensive MVP Award went to Sadie Sudduth.

The Most Valuable Player Award went to Dani Diaz. She is not very big but has a giant heart. 

Coach Clay White present the Mule basketball players before handing out his awards he stated, “Individual honors are made possible through successes and sacrifices of the team.”

The Iron Man Award was presented to All-District player, Jason Florez. The MVP Award went to Dagen Dunham.

(To Be Continued)


No comments:

Post a Comment